Former Board Members

Herb Watkins

Herb Watkins is an Austin technical professional helping organizations use efficient processes, minimal technical systems, and flexible architecture to solve their problems and opportunities for 15 years. Herb started as a middle school music teacher and uses the patience and empathy learned in that environment to help his business counterparts understand opportunities in technology. Fueled by his strong interest in informing voters through quality journalism, he brings his technical experience and business organization experience to the board.

Marty Hopkins

Marty Hopkins is a senior litigation associate at Eversheds Sutherland (US). Her practice focuses on state and federal energy regulatory compliance, energy market design, and energy-related litigation. She has significant experience with multi-state and Texas-jurisdictional transmission projects and regularly advises clients on bringing these projects to commercial operation. Marty was selected for inclusion in Texas Super Lawyers® “Rising Stars” (2017). She and her family (partner and two dogs) love living near the east loop of the hike and bike trail.

Reeve Hamilton

Reeve Hamilton is the Austin-based executive director of media relations for the Texas A&M University System. He was one of the original reporters at The Texas Tribune, where he spent more than five years covering higher education and politics and hosting a weekly podcast. His writing has also appeared in Texas Monthly, The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Texas Observer.

Abby Rapoport

Abby Rapoport is an Austin-based reporter, whose work has appeared in the The National Journal, the Texas Observer, The American Prospect as well as other outlets. She studied History at Grinnell College and held a writing fellowship at the Economic Policy Institute. She serves on the boards of the American Agora Foundation (which publishes Lapham’s Quarterly) and chairs the Texas Democracy Foundation, which publishes the Texas Observer. In her non-journalism time, she also serves on the board of Shalom Austin.

Sheryl Cole

Sheryl Cole First elected in 2006, Sheryl Cole is the first African-American woman elected to the Austin City Council.  Re-elected in 2009, and elevated by her Council peers to Mayor Pro Tem in 2011.  As Mayor Pro Tem, she served as Chair of both the Audit and Finance Committee and the Comprehensive Transportation and Planning Committee.  She also served on both the CAMPO Transportation and Policy Board and the Lone Star Rail District Board of Directors from 2008 to 2014.

Sheryl earned her B.A. in accounting from The University of Texas at Austin and became a Certified Public Accountant in 1986.

Robert E. Jones

Robert E. Jones is an Austin based political consultant with more than 15 years of experience managing organizations like Annie’s List and Be One Texas and in advising candidates like Sen. Wendy Davis, Houston Mayor Annise Parker and numerous members of the Texas House. He is also an adjunct professor of political science at St. Edward’s University and has provided political analysis to media outlets like CNN, NPR, Fox News and the New York Times.

Julio Gonzalez Altamirano

Julio Gonzalez Altamirano is a native Texan. He works at the intersection of education and technology. Julio’s diverse Austin civic efforts range from increasing access to municipal open data to supporting new transit investment. He writes about Austin policy and policymakers at ‘Keep Austin Wonky’ and tweets @juliogatx.